DataDENT Webinars with the Data for Nutrition Community of Practice

The Data for Nutrition community of practice (DfN) hosts regular webinars highlighting member research and experiences around nutrition data and measurement issues. 

DataDENT has disseminated our work on data visualization tools and nutrition-sensitive social protection measurement through DfN’s webinars, including through the webinar series “Visualizing Nutrition Data for Decision Making”. 

Click on the accordions under each Priority Area to find brief descriptions and recordings of each webinar. To learn more about DfN webinars and to access supplementary content visit datafornutrition.org/webinars/

PRIORITY AREA 1: Fill gaps and improve quality of nutrition coverage measurement in household and facility surveys

Date and Time:

July 27, 2021 11:00 – 12:30 PM ET

Description:

Social protection programs are important platforms for delivering nutrition interventions. Many countries have invested in school feeding programs to extend the reach of nutrition-sensitive social protection to children and their families. During this webinar, speakers and participants discussed the global landscape of school feeding programs and the development of metrics for assessing the coverage of nutrition-sensitive social protection programs. Presentations showcased examples from the Global Survey of School Meal Programs©. Speakers included Ayala Wineman (GCNF) and Nadia Akseer (JHSPH). Q&A moderated by Rebecca Heidkamp (JHSPH) followed presentations.

PRIORITY AREA 2: Develop more effective approaches for data-driven nutrition accountability and advocacy

Date and Time:

December 16, 2020 10:00 – 11:30 AM EST/ 6:00 – 7:30 PM EAT/ 8:30 – 10:00 PM IST

Description:

In recent years, we have seen a proliferation of global data visualization tools (DVTs) for nutrition. These tools aid audiences in interpreting data and focusing on key priorities. During this webinar, we shared collated findings from studies conducted by the Data for Decisions to Expand Nutrition Transformation (DataDENT) team. Following the presentation, expert panelists discussed their perspectives as donors, advocates, and implementing partners of nutrition programs and policies, and share insights from their experiences developing and using DVTs for nutrition. Speakers included Yashodhara Rana (R4D), Augustin Flory (R4D), Shawn Baker (USAID), Purnima Menon (IFPRI), Melanie Renshaw (African Leaders Malaria Alliance), and Paul Newnham (SDG2 Advocacy Hub). Q&A followed the panel discussion.

Date and Time:

April 29, 2020 at 10:00 AM EDT/2:00 PM GMT

Description: 

Data for Nutrition’s first webinar in the “Visualizing Nutrition Data for Decision Making” series focused on DataDENT’s landscaping’s of global and India data visualization tools for nutrition. Speakers included Manita Jangid (IFPRI) and Yashodhara Rana (R4D). Q&A followed the presentations. 

%d bloggers like this: